skip to Main Content

John McCain Receives the 2018 Henry A. Kissinger Prize

BERLIN—May 3, 2018—The American Academy in Berlin has awarded the 2018 Henry A. Kissinger Prize to United States Senator John McCain (R-AZ). The prize was privately bestowed, and there will be no award ceremony.

The prize, which is awarded annually to a renowned figure in the field of international diplomacy, recognizes Senator McCain for his principled leadership throughout six decades of public service, his unwavering political courage, and a persistent ability to rally colleagues to bipartisan solutions to some of the most difficult challenges facing the United States. On the world stage, Senator McCain has long advocated for a strong, confident European Union, a robust and committed NATO, and the steeled continuation of the transatlantic alliance.

The Henry A. Kissinger Prize has been awarded since 2007. It was established to honor a Founding Chairman of the American Academy in Berlin, former US Secretary of State Henry A. Kissinger, whose initiatives to create and sustain a stable East-West relationship helped to lay the foundation for change in Europe, the end of the Cold War, and the unification of Germany. Previous recipients of the prize are former German Chancellor Helmut Schmidt; 41st President of the United States George H.W. Bush; former President of the Federal Republic of Germany Richard von Weizsäcker; former New York Mayor and philanthropist Michael R. Bloomberg; former German Chancellor Helmut Kohl; former US Secretary of State George P. Shultz; founder of the Munich Security Conference Ewald-Heinrich von Kleist; former US Secretary of State James A. Baker, III; former President of Italy Giorgio Napolitano and former Federal Foreign Minister and Vice Chancellor of Germany Hans-Dietrich Genscher; former US Ambassador to the United Nations Samantha Power; and Germany’s former Federal Minister of Finance Wolfgang Schäuble.

Download this press release in English or German.

Photo: Annette Hornischer

Back To Top