About the Henry A. Kissinger Prize

Since 2007, the American Academy in Berlin has bestowed the annual Henry A. Kissinger Prize upon a renowned American or European figure of international diplomacy, in recognition of his or her outstanding services to the transatlantic relationship. The award honors the achievements of Dr. Henry A. Kissingerauthor, Nobel Peace Prize recipient, and former national security advisor, under President Richard Nixon, and secretary of state under Presidents Nixon and Ford. A towering figure of international diplomacy and US foreign policy, Dr. Kissinger’s initiatives for disarmament and detente in the postwar period helped to create an active dialogue among the world’s leading nations that ultimately resulted in the end of the Cold War and the reunification of Germany. One of the founders of the American Academy in Berlin, Dr. Kissinger served as a co-chairman from December 2010 to November 2011.

Donors to the Henry A. Kissinger Prize are the Honorable & Mrs. Hushang Ansary, Audi AG, Georg Bauch-Food Concepts, Bloomberg Philanthropies, Robert Bosch GmbH, The Honorable & Mrs. Edward P. & Mrs. Francois Djerejian, Goldman Sachs & Co., Helga & Erivan Haub, Baroness Nina von Maltzahn, Porsche AG, The Honorable John F. W. Rogers, and Unternehmensgruppe Tengelman.

If you wish to contribute to the Henry A. Kissinger Prize endowment or toward its operational budget, please contact the Academy’s development manager, Berit Ebert, at be@americanacademy.de, or call +49 30 804 83 108.

Recipients of the Henry A. Kissinger Prize

Wolfgang Schäuble (2017)

The 2017 Henry A. Kissinger Prize will be awarded to German Federal Minister of Finance Dr. Wolfgang Schäuble on June 20, 2017, in Berlin.

Samantha Power (2016)

The American Academy in Berlin awarded the 2016 Henry A. Kissinger Prize to the US Permanent Representative to the United Nations, Ambassador Samantha Power, on June 8, 2016. The laudation was delivered by Christoph Heusgen, the foreign policy and security advisor to Chancellor Angela Merkel. In attendance were German cabinet ministers Thomas de Maizière and Christian Schmidt, among the 350 invited guests.

In her position as the US Permanent Representative to the United Nations, Ambassador Power has worked diligently to rally the international community to respond to a multitude of global threats—from the Ebola outbreak to the rise of violent extremist groups. She has been a persistent and forceful advocate for human rights and democratic accountability. As is consistent with the Henry A. Kissinger Prize, Ambassador Power has not only maintained but also strengthened the transatlantic relationships crucial to responding effectively to all of these diplomatic challenges—whether through marshalling the support needed to make UN peacekeeping missions more effective, or by pushing back against a growing global crackdown on civil society. Throughout, and as the United States’ voice in the world’s governing body, she has been critical, forthright, and unswerving. In so doing she has become one of the transatlantic community’s most indispensable voices, as well as an inspiration for students contemplating careers in the diplomatic corps.

The 2016 Henry A. Kissinger Prize brochure

Past Recipients

Full Film of the 2016 Henry A. Kissinger Prize