skip to Main Content
Photo: Mike Minehan

Tutorial Fellow in Politics, St. John's College, University of Oxford, England

J. P. Morgan Fellow - Class of Fall 2003

Walter Mattli is Professor of International Political Economy in the Department of Politics and International Relations at Oxford University and Fellow of St. John’s College at Oxford. He received his undergraduate degree from the University of Geneva and his PhD from the University of Chicago. From 1995 until 2004 he taught at Columbia University, where he was Associate Professor of International Political Economy and a member of the Institute of War and Peace Studies. He has been a Forum Fellow as well as a Jean Monnet Fellow at the European University Institute, in Florence, a Fellow at the Center for International Studies at Princeton University, a Fellow at the Wissenschaftskolleg (Institute for Advanced Studies) in Berlin, and Brettschneider Scholar at Cornell University.


In 1995, Mattli was awarded the Helen Dwight Reid Award of the American Political Science Association, in 2003 the JP Morgan International Prize in Finance Policy and Economics of the American Academy in Berlin, and in 2006 a two-year British Academy Research Fellowship. Before beginning his graduate studies, he worked in international banking. Mattli’s publications include The Logic of Regional Integration: Europe and Beyond (Cambridge, 1999); The Politics of Global Regulation (Princeton, 2009, with Ngaire Woods, eds), awarded special recognition by the 2010 Levine Prize Committee of the International Political Science Association; The New Global Rulers: the Privatization of Regulation in the World Economy (Princeton, 2011, with Tim Buthe); as well as articles on European legal integration, EU enlargement, comparative regional integration, international commercial dispute resolution, transatlantic regulatory cooperation, and globalization and international governance. He is presently completing a book project entitled Institutional Choice in International Commerce.


Mattli is the winner (with Alec Stone Sweet, of Yale Law School) of the open competition for the fiftieth-anniversary special issue of the Journal of Common Market Studies, published 2012, of which he was co-editor.

Back To Top