

Twenty-Five Years of 'Slow Diplomacy'

FACTS & FIGURES

- *The American Academy in Berlin is an institution of advanced scholarship and practice in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and public policy.
- *It was founded in Berlin in 1994 just after the Cold War ended by a group of prominent Americans and Germans, among them then-US Ambassador Richard Holbrooke, statesmen Henry Kissinger and Richard von Weizsäcker, and historian Fritz Stern. The Academy hosted its first class of fellows in 1998, thus we celebrate our 25th anniversary in this 2023-24 academic year.
- *Our goal? Sustaining and enhancing the intellectual, cultural, and political ties between the US and Germany, or as Richard Holbrooke said in the Academy's early days, conducting "slow diplomacy."
- *Since 1998, the Academy has hosted more than 600 fellows with its flagship program, the Berlin Prize Fellowship, a semester-long residency at the Hans Arnhold Center, a historic villa on the Wannsee, awarded each year to circa 24 scholars, artists, writers, public policy experts, composers, and journalists from the US.
- *The Academy hosts **over 100 events each year** with fellows and Distinguished Visitors, who engage with German leaders and the public on issues of shared concern, including global politics, international security and economics, technology, public health, the humanities and more.
- *Since 2007, the American Academy in Berlin has bestowed the annual **Henry A. Kissinger Prize** upon a renowned American or European figure of international diplomacy, in recognition of outstanding services to the transatlantic relationship. Recipients include Jens Stoltenberg (2023), Frank-Walter Steinmeier (2022), James N. Mattis (2021), Angela Merkel (2020).
- *The **board of trustees** is composed of several dozen influential leaders from German and American business, finance, culture, and academia, including Sandra E. Peterson (Chairman), Stefan von Holtzbrinck (Vice Chairman), Klaus Biesenbach (Director Neue Nationalgalerie), Jeffrey Goldberg (The Atlantic and PBS), Wolfgang Ischinger (President, Munich Security Conference Foundation Council), and several members of the Arnhold-Kellen family.

Past fellows

Art historians

Benjamin Buchloh T. J. Clark Hal Foster Linda Henderson W.J.T. Mitchell Ann Wagner

Journalists & critics

Joan Acocella Hilton Als Matthieu Aikins Anne Applebaum Jeffrey Goldberg Suki Kim George Packer Alex Ross Joshua Yaffa

Literary scholars

Amanda Anderson Tom Conley Susan McCabe Susan Stewart James Wood Composers & musicians

Samuel Adler David Behrman Raven Chacon Annie Gosfeld Wang Lu Sean Shepherd

Fiction writers & playwrights

Nathan Englander
Jeffrey Eugenides
Jonathan Safran Foer
Rivka Galchen
Lauren Groff
Hari Kunzru
Jonathan Lethem
Arthur Miller
Lorrie Moore
Claudia Rankine
Karen Russell

Historians

Atina Grossman Martin Jay H.C. Erik Midelfort Kira Thurman

Sean Wilentz

Political scientists & policy experts

Derek Chollet Andrew Nathan Steven Simon Julianne Smith Angela Stent Philip Zelikow Daniel Ziblatt

Artists & photographers

Mitch Epstein Kevin Jerome Everson LaToya Ruby Frazier Jenny Holzer Alex Katz Julie Mehretu Camilo José Vergara

Sociologists

Nancy Foner Todd Gitlin Virág Molnár George Steinmetz

Past Distinguished Visitors

Policy experts

William Burns Stephen Hadley Christopher Hill Robert Kagan Ivan Krastev Todd Stern Vali Nasr Paul Volcker

Philosophers

Judith Butler Michael Sandel Richard Sennet Charles Taylor

Economists

Jagdish Bhagwati Barry Eichengreen Paul Krugman Adam S. Posen Alvin E. Roth Robert Shiller Lawrence Summers Joseph E. Stiglitz

Supreme Court justices

Stephen D. Breyer Antonin Scalia Sonia Sotomayor

Journalists & Writers

Jill Abramson
Susan Baker
Masha Gessen
Malcolm Gladwell
Susan Glasser
Frances FitzGerald
Elizabeth Kolbert
Jill Lepore
Calvin Trillin
Susan Sontag

Creative artists

Chuck Close Alex Katz Jeff Koons Yo-Yo Ma

Kerry James Marshall

Kiki Smith

Science & technology experts

Eric Kandel Eric Schmidt Peter Seligman Neil Shubin Harold E. Varmus

Actors & Directors

Matt Damon Robert De Niro Julie Taymor



On the American Academy in Berlin's mission:

Frank-Walter Steinmeier, President of Germany: "The American Academy in Berlin stands like few others for the German-American friendship, for the shared democratic values that unite us, and for the spirit of transatlantic cooperation."

Stefan von Holtzbrinck, CEO, Holtzbrinck Publishing Group; Academy Vice Chairman and trustee: "The American Academy has become an outstanding and renowned platform for the most urgent debates about humanism and the values in our societies and systems."

Jeffrey Goldberg Editor-in-Chief, *The Atlantic***; Academy trustee and alumnus:** "A place where the hard work of scholarship and humane truth-seeking and democracy and thinking—actual bona fide thinking—can be pursued in dignity and freedom."

Daniel Benjamin, Academy president: "Against a backdrop of the post-ColdWar 'end of history,' when the triumph of liberal democracy appeared assured, the creation of an institution whose mission was to deepen ties across the Atlantic—as a good in itself *and* as a hedge against unforeseen future forces of division—was an act that defied the *Zeitgeist*....Jump ahead to the present, and it is clear that our progenitors deserve the highest praise."

"What has remained a constant is not only a commitment to excellence and free inquiry but also a determination to cover the waterfront of intellectual and artistic life *and* to address the big issues. This mix, we believe, is what makes the Academy so unique and what gives it a central place in the transatlantic discussion."

March 22, 2024