skip to Main Content

Mary and Robert Raymond Professor of Economics & Bowen H. and Janice Arthur McCoy Senior Fellow, Stanford University

Kurt Viermetz Distinguished Visitor - Class of Spring 2008

John B. Taylor is the Mary and Robert Raymond Professor of Economics at Stanford University and the Bowen H. and Janice Arthur McCoy Senior Fellow at Stanford University’s Hoover Institution. He formerly served as the director of the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research, where he is now a senior fellow, and was the founding director of Stanford’s Introductory Economics Center.


Taylor’s fields of expertise cover macroeconomics, monetary economics, and international economics. He is known for his research on the foundations of modern monetary theory and policy, which has been applied by central banks and financial market analysts around the world.


Taylor is currently a member of the California Governor’s Council of Economic Advisors. After earning his PhD in economics from Stanford University, in 1973, he was a member of the President’s Council of Economic Advisors, during the George H.W. Bush Administration, and senior economist at the Council of Economic Advisors, during the Ford and Carter Administrations. From 1995 to 2001, Taylor was a member of the Congressional Budget Office’s Panel of Economic Advisers, after which time he served as undersecretary of the Treasury for International Affairs, until 2005. His book Global Financial Warriors: The Untold Story of International Finance in the Post-9/11 World (2007) chronicles his years as head of the international division at the Department of the Treasury.


Taylor has received multiple awards for his public service and scholarship in international finance. Among them, he received the Alexander Hamilton Award for his financial leadership while at the Treasury. He was also awarded the Treasury Distinguished Service Award for designing and implementing the currency reforms in Iraq and the Medal of the Republic of Uruguay for his work in resolving the 2002 financial crisis. In 2005, he received the George P. Shultz Distinguished Public Service Award.

Back To Top