The Berlin Prize

Congratulating the 2013 / 2014 Berlin Prize Recipients

The American Academy in Berlin is honored to announce the recipients of the Berlin Prize for the fall 2013 and spring 2014 terms.

The Academy’s sixteenth class of fellows is comprised of twenty-six outstanding scholars, writers, journalists, artists, policy experts, and one composer who have been awarded a Berlin Prize by an independent selection committee, chaired by Richard Sieburth, Professor of French and Comparative Literature at New York University.

The Berlin Prize affords fellows the time and resources to pursue independent study and engage with their German counterparts and with Berlin’s vibrant academic, cultural, and political life. The Berlin Prize includes a monthly stipend, partial board, and residence at the Academy’s lakeside Hans Arnhold Center. Most fellowships last for one academic semester and are privately funded.

The Fall 2013 Class of Berlin Prize Fellows

Huma Bhabha, Artist, Poughkeepsie, New York
Warren Breckman, Professor of History, University of Pennsylvania
James Brophy, Francis H. Squire Professor of History, University of Delaware
Kiran Desai, Writer, Cold Spring, New York
Ben Marcus, Writer, and Professor, Columbia University
Andrew Nathan, Class of 1919 Professor of Political Science, Columbia University
Dietrich Neumann, Royce Family Professor for the History of Modern Architecture and Urban Studies, Brown University
Wolf Schäfer, Professor of History and Associate Dean for International Academic Programs and Services, Stony Brook University
David Scheffer, Mayer Brown/Robert A. Helman Professor of Law and Director, Center for International Human Rights, Northwestern University
Thomas Schestag, Literary Scholar, Portland, Oregon, Associate Professor of German,
Brown University (beginning January 2014)
Felicity Scott, Associate Professor of Architectural History and Theory, Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, Columbia University
Tara Zahra, Professor of History, University of Chicago


The Spring 2014 Class of Berlin Prize Fellows

Dennis C. Dickerson, James M. Lawson, Jr. Professor of History, Vanderbilt University
Leslie Dunton-Downer, Writer, Cambridge, Massachusetts
Dexter Filkins (April/May), Staff Writer, The New Yorker
LaToya Ruby Frazier, Visual Media Artist, Braddock, Pennsylvania; Curator, Rutgers University
Matthew Goodheart, Composer, San Francisco, California
Linda D. Henderson, David Bruton, Jr. Centennial Professor in Art History and Regents Outstanding Teaching Professor, Department of Art and Art History, The University of Texas at Austin
Jonathan Lethem
, Writer, and Roy E. Disney ’51 Professor of Creative Writing, Pomona College
Brian Linn, Ralph R. Thomas Professor of Liberal Arts and Professor of History, Texas A&M University
Dominique Nabokov, Artist, New York
Sylvia Nasar, John S. and James L. Knight Professor of Business Journalism, Columbia University
George Packer (April/May), Staff Writer, The New Yorker
Janet Richards, Professor of Egyptology, Department of Near Eastern Studies, and Curator for Dynastic Egypt, Kelsey Museum of Archaeology, University of Michigan
Laura Secor (April/May), Journalist, New York
Susan Stewart, Avalon Foundation University Professor in the Humanities, Professor of English and Director, Society of Fellows in the Liberal Arts, Princeton University
Ronald Suny, Charles Tilly Collegiate Professor of Social and Political History, University of Michigan, and Emeritus Professor of Political Science and History, University of Chicago

Berlin Prize Fellowships have been permanently endowed by the following individuals, foundations, and corporations: Daimler AG, Georg von Holtzbrinck Publishing Group, Dirk Ippen, Nina Maria Gorrissen, Mary Ellen von der Heyden, John P. Birkelund, and the German Transatlantic Berlin Prize supported by European Recovery Program funds granted through the Transatlantic Program of the Federal Republic of Germany. Fellowships are also named for Axel Springer AG, Robert Bosch Foundation, Siemens AG, Berthold Leibinger Foundation, Ellen Maria Gorrissen, Anna-Maria Kellen, Guna S. Mundheim, and Inga Maren Otto.

For more information on the fellows and their projects download the complete list of 2013-2014 Berlin Prize Fellows by clicking here.