The Berlin Prize

Announcing the 2014-2015 Class of Berlin Prize Fellows

Proudly congratulating the Academy's seventeenth class

The American Academy in Berlin is proud to announce the twenty-five recipients of the Berlin Prize Fellowship for the fall 2014 and spring 2015 terms. The highly competitive Berlin Prize is awarded each year to scholars, writers, and artists who represent the highest standards of excellence in their fields. The Academy’s seventeenth class of fellows is comprised of outstanding historians of art, architecture, culture, religion, science, and American life, fiction writers, two artists, a poet, a journalist, a composer, a filmmaker, a legal scholar, and a scholar of comparative media.

The Berlin Prize includes a monthly stipend, partial board, and residence at the Academy’s lakeside Hans Arnhold Center in Berlin-Wannsee. It is awarded annually by an independent selection committee, chaired by Anthony Vidler, Professor of Humanities and Art and Architectural History at Brown University. The Berlin Prize affords recipients the time and resources to step back from their daily obligations to work on academic and artistic projects they might not otherwise pursue, engage with their German counterparts, and experience Berlin’s vibrant cultural and political life.

The Fall 2014 Class

Monica Black, Associate Professor of History, University of Tennessee at Knoxville
Beatriz Colomina,
Professor of Architecture; Director, Program in Media and Modernity, Princeton University
Daniel Eisenberg, Filmmaker, and Professor of Film, Video, New Media, and Animation, School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Myles Jackson, Professor of the History of Science, Gallatin School of Individualized Study and Faculty of Arts and Science, New York University
Anthony McCall, Artist, New York
Mark Meadow, Professor of History of Art and Architecture, University of California at Santa Barbara
Daniel Rosenberg, Professor of History, University of Oregon
Adam Ross, Writer, Nashville, Tennessee
Hillel Schwartz, Cultural Historian and Translator, Encinitas, California
Louise E. Walker, Assistant Professor of History, Northeastern University
Marjorie Woods, Blumberg Centennial Professor of English and University Distinguished Teaching Professor, University of Texas at Austin

The Spring 2015 Class

Bruce Ackerman, Sterling Professor of Law and Political Science, Yale University
Ayad Akhtar,
Writer, New York
Mary Jo Bang, Poet, and Professor of English, Washington University in St. Louis
Sanford Biggers, Artist, and Assistant Professor, School of the Arts, Columbia University
Tom Drury, Writer, Brooklyn, New York
Siyen Fei, Associate Professor of History, University of Pennsylvania
Dexter Filkins, Staff Writer, New Yorker
Karen Hagemann, James G. Kenan Distinguished Professor of History, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Christopher D. Johnson, Visiting Associate Professor of Spanish and Portuguese, University of Southern California
Nathaniel Levtow, Associate Professor of Religious Studies, University of Montana
Elliott Sharp, Composer, New York
William Uricchio, Professor of Comparative Media Studies, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Tomas Venclova, Writer, and Professor Emeritus of Slavic Languages and Literatures, Yale University
Sean Wilentz, George Henry Davis 1886 Professor of American History, Princeton University

The Berlin Prize Fellowships have been permanently endowed by the following individuals, foundations, and corporations: Daimler AG, Georg von Holtzbrinck Publishing Group, Nina von Maltzahn, Karl and Mary Ellen von der Heyden, John P. Birkelund, and the German Transatlantic Berlin Prize supported by European Recovery Program funds granted through the Transatlantic Program of the Federal Republic of Germany. Fellowships are also named after Axel Springer AG, Robert Bosch Foundation, Siemens AG, Berthold Leibinger Foundation, Dirk Ippen, Ellen Maria Gorrissen, Anna-Maria Kellen, Guna S. Mundheim, and Inga Maren Otto.