Tuesday, March 29, 2016

The New President of the American Academy in Berlin

March 31, 2016: The American Academy in Berlin is pleased to announce the naming of its new president, Professor Michael P. Steinberg, who will begin his tenure in August 2016.

Download a hi-res photo of Michael P. Steinberg.

For more photos, please visit this page and download from the gallery.

All photos courtesy the American Academy in Berlin. Photographer: Juergen Stumpe

Thursday, June 04, 2015

Gahl Hodges Burt Named Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the American Academy in Berlin

The Trustees of the American Academy in Berlin have elected  Gahl Hodges Burt to the position of Chairman of the Board of Trustees. In addition, incoming president, Professor Dr. Gerhard Casper, was elected to the Board, along with Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck, Vincent A. Mai, and Maureen White.

Thursday, May 21, 2015

American Academy Announces Berlin Prize Recipients

The American Academy in Berlin has awarded Berlin Prizes – semester-long fellowships in Berlin – to twenty-one artists, historians, literary scholars, and writers for fall 2015 and spring 2016.

The American Academy’s Acting Chairman Gahl Hodges Burt said: “We look forward to the arrival of these outstanding fellows and to continuing the US/German conversation in all of their different fields.”

Fellows, who were chosen by an independent selection committee, will examine a diverse array of projects and topics, including East German urban-planning efforts in Vietnam, small-scale methamphetamine production in rural Missouri, and contemporary Islam through the work of Arab poets since World War II.

Wednesday, April 01, 2015

Giorgio Napolitano and Hans-Dietrich Genscher to Receive 2015 Henry A. Kissinger Prize

Wednesday, December 03, 2014

Gerhard Casper, President Emeritus of Stanford University, Appointed President of the American Academy in Berlin